ACLU Wants Two-Thousand Rape, Torture Photos Released

New photos show rape of detainees by US soldiers

Just as President Barack Obama’s Middle East tour is starting, a scandal is brewing regarding photos of detainees being abused in Iraqi jails. The American Civil Liberties Union is pushing for a federal court appeal on the Obama administration’s decision not to release the pictures which, some reports claim, show sexually explicit acts, including rape.

* * *

Lynndie England – “Rumsfeld knew”

In this interview with England I hear no remorse in her words. Rather she appears narcissistic and sociopathic.

050405_abuse

She is one of the faces symbolizing the Iraq war. Pictures showing her abusing Iraqi detainees in Abu Graib prison brought her notorious fame throughout the world. In her first interview in three years Lynndie England talks about Abu Ghraib, about Charles Graner, about guilt, her current life – and the role of the Bush administration.

Mrs. England, a year ago you were released from jail after serving 521 days of a three-year sentence. How are you feeling now?

Not great but good.

What does that mean?

(She sighs) Oh, it’s just little things going wrong. I’m just trying to get by. Trying to find a job, trying to find a house. It’s been harder than I expected. I went to a couple of interviews, and I thought they went great. I wrote dozens of applications. Nothing came of it. I put in at Wal-Mart, at Staples. I’d do any job. But I never heard from them.

Do you think your name has anything to do with it?

I am starting to wonder if they realize who I am and they don’t want the publicity. I don’t want to lie. On my resume I have a brief little paragraph about what I did in the army and about being in prison and that I’m still on parole. I want to be totally honest. I have to find a job by September, that’s part of the parole regulations. If you break the rules, then they can bring you back. That would be a big deal because I don’t want to leave my son.

How do you get by? What do you live on?

We just got our taxes back. Thank God. Otherwise, I don’t know. I live in a trailer with my parents. My Dad works for the railway and he tries to help out with bills and my Mom helps me with what she gets.

You live in Ashby, a small town with a population of 1300. How do people treat you now?

They don’t treat me any different. I haven’t met a person yet that’s been negative to me. Not since I got home. Most of them back me up one hundred percent. They say, “What happened to you was wrong.” And some even say they would have done the same thing.

What do they mean by “They would have done the same thing”?

That they would have followed orders, just as I did in Abu Ghraib.

Why did you join the army at the age of 17 and against the express wishes of your mother?

I always wanted to be in the military. My whole life. I just didn’t know what branch – Navy, Army, Coast Guard, Marines, Air Force. I just wanted to serve my country and be a patriot, I guess. As a child I mainly grew up on military gung-ho movies so that’s where I got the idea. Old Chuck Norris movies, “Delta Force”, “Rambo”, “Missing in Action”, “Platoon”. Full Interview

Sounding Increasingly, and Disturbingly, Like Bush

In reversing himself and declaring that the US government will not release further photos in its possession of torture being practiced on captives held by the US military and the CIA, President Obama is sounding increasingly like the Bush/Cheney administration before him.

It may well be that, as Obama says, release of those photos could lead to anger in the Islamic world and perhaps to recruitment gains among groups like Al Qaeda that are attacking American troops in Iraq, Afghanistan and elsewhere, but this is only true because at the same time, the Obama administration is opposing taking any legal action against the people who authorized and promoted that torture.

If the Obama administration were to open a full-scale legal investigation into torture, with an independent prosecutor assigned to go after anyone who violated the Geneva Conventions and the US Criminal Code outlawing torture and the authorization, condoning or covering-up of torture, quite the opposite would happen: people in the Islamic world would see that this nation was coming to terms with those who abused the law. The horrifying and sickening pictures would be seen as part of the process of exposing and punishing the crime of torture. Full Story

Related Stories:

The Real Photos Show Torture, Abuse, Rape and Every Indecency
The Torture Photos Obama Refuses to Release

2 responses to “ACLU Wants Two-Thousand Rape, Torture Photos Released

  1. I have to side with the President on the release of these detainees being abused in Iraqi jails, since I feel they serve no useful purpose, as long as the U.S. admits to the international community this type of behavior existed in Abu Ghraib prison.

    I’ve covered my reasoning in my self authored, WordPress posting entitled “Is There a Need for Abu Ghraib II Photos”.

    However, I strongly believe that a continuing investigation into this stained blackmark on our country’s history should continue and any new evidence of those who participated, administered or condoned such atrocities should be brought to justice.

    • Tom – this is an issue we previously discussed in the post The Torture Photos Obama Refuses to Release. My rationale for releasing them remains the same.

      Obama’s promise of transparency has been broken, and his refusal to release photos that he previously committed to doing, shows that his only interest is in protecting the torturers. Refusal to acknowledge and fully, fairly prosecute those who have committed crimes against the detainees is what will flame an already inflamed situation. We’ve all read descriptions of what the images contain; releasing them is the first step in making amends to those that the U.S. government has wronged. And if Obama truly wants to protect the soldiers, he would put an end to the illegal wars being waged in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Leave a Reply

